In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Home Resources Glossary Y.1731


ITU-T service OAM standard Y.1731 is similar to IEEE standard 802.1ag in that it divides a network into maintenance domains in the form of hierarchy levels. Both of these are then allocated to users, service providers and operators. CFM then assigns maintenance end points (MEPs) to the edges of each domain and maintenance intermediate points (MIPs) to ports within domains. This helps define the relationships between all entities from a maintenance perspective, to allow each entity to monitor the layers under its responsibility and easily localize problems.

The following procedures are included in ITU-T Y.1731 standard:

  • Fault management
  • Diagnostics (including throughput)
  • Performance management:
    • Frame delay
    • Delay variation
    • Frame loss


Y.1731 over Copper

Y.1731 over Fiber

Y.1731 over DSL

RAD’s EtherAccess® Ethernet network termination units and demarcation devices feature advanced Ethernet OAM functionalities, including ITU-T standard Y.1731, to enable service providers control traffic and QoS, and identify problems before they escalate so that users are not impacted by network defects. Furthermore, these devices allow operators ensure that network and service performance complies with service level agreements (SLAs) for customized, rate- and performance-guaranteed service packages. The EtherAccess demarcation devices offer consistent Y.1731 support over copper, fiber and DSL media.
Required information
Contact us 

Related Terms